Back from Santa Barbara Island

Judy and I have been back for a week now, and for me there’s been an unexpected development. As I said, when we were offered a third week on the island, we had to ask ourselves whether we could handle it. We decided to give it a go, and it was easy. The hard part has been coming back home—at least for me it has. Being on Santa Barbara Island was such a peaceful experience and we got settled in deeply enough that coming back to the chaos of the city has been unsettling. I dislike going outside right now. The city gets on my nerves more than it did before we left. I’ll adjust. I am adjusting. But this was unexpected. I’m speaking only for myself. Weirdly enough, just three days after our return Judy had to leave for another island: Manhattan. I’m eager to compare notes when she returns.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Back from Santa Barbara Island”

  1. John Shepherd Says:

    Mark & Judy,

    It sounds like you guys had a great time and were able to recharge the batteries. It is always an adjustment to return to an urban setting once you are conditioned to the quiet and undeveloped. It is a contrast of pace and tension. It will be an even bigger change of pace for Judy once she hits the big apple.

    Wishing you the best into the new year…..

    John Shepherd,
    Vancouver, WA

  2. Sarah Says:

    Welcome home, Mark (and Judy, once she returns)!

    I hope you won’t mind if I ask you an admittedly way off-topic question, but here goes, anyway: Did you ever know the late (and apparently much beloved) Jerry Garcia? Both of you are of the same generation and you have interests (music) and a physical base (Frisco) in common, which prompts me to ask. I don’t know much about Garcia, but I can’t imagine that your politics and his are all that different, either.

    • markbittner Says:

      No, I never the knew the man. And I wasn’t a “dead head.” While I’m not part of any particular scene these days, the people I hung out with when I was young were hostile toward the Grateful Dead. I didn’t know enough about the Dead to have a strong opinion one way or another. My musical taste was oriented more toward the East Coast. But now I would argue with my old friends. The Dead were the outgrowth of a real culture, that is, a tribe of people with shared interests, and that, in my book, makes them perfectly legitimate. That’s what music is supposed to be. So while I don’t really know their music that well, I do appreciate what they were about.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

