The Vow of the Boddhisattva

For several weeks I’ve had some half-remembered commentary by Stephen Gaskin on the Vow of the Boddhisattva running around in my head. I finally looked it up.

The deluding passions are inexhaustible, I vow to extinguish them all. The way of the Buddha is unattainable, I vow to attain it. Sentient beings are innumberable, I vow to save them all. The truth is impossible to expound, I vow to expound it. By the time I get this far, I generally lump them together as, “I vow to shovel shit against the tide forever.”

Amen.

Tags:

One Response to “The Vow of the Boddhisattva”

  1. octobia Says:

    What a memorable quote! Vintage Gaskin. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

