No Hurry, No Goal

I used to be a bicycling fanatic, but that passed years ago, and I’ve never quite gotten the spirit back. Yesterday, I decided to ride up Mt. Tamalpais. I’ve already been up the mountain once this year, but yesterday I was feeling sluggish right from the start. Just one of those days. I wasn’t enjoying the ride, and I decided that the only way I could make it bearable was to adopt the mantra of “There is no hurry and there is no goal.” I rode at a relaxed, slow pace and even stopped to look at the sights (something I don’t often do when I’m “working out”).  My rule was if at any point I felt like turning back, even if I was only 100 yards from the summit, then, by golly, that’s what I’d do. Whenever I found myself wondering if I could make it to the top, I’d remind myself of my mantra and return to riding easy. And it worked; I was enjoying the ride.

At a rest stop, I saw a mileage sign and realized that I was closer to the summit than I thought. It was starting to get a little late, so when I got back on the bike I decided to go for it. I put my head down and increased my speed. But a half mile later I felt like complete crap. I remembered my rule then, turned around, and coasted back to the bottom. No regrets, Coyote!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

