More on the Sick Parrot

Here’s a photo of the juvenile Cherry-headed Conure (Red-masked Parakeet) that a neighbor brought me a couple of days ago.

Juvenile with Baylisascaris procyonis

Juvenile with Baylisascaris procyonis

His head is hanging because he can’t hold it up. He has a round worm, Baylisascaris procyonis, that is commonly found in raccoon feces. The worm gets into the spinal column and brain. Humans can pick it up, too. (It’s one of the reasons that I opposed the public feeding of the flock. For more information on this, click here.) I’m told that Baylisascaris procyonis is well-known problem at zoos. My guess is that they’re drinking from pools of water on rooftops (a common drinking source for the flock) that raccoons have been into. If you saw the film The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill, this is the same problem that afflicted Tupelo. I’m skeptical that this bird will survive. He’s bright-eyed and alert, however. I’ve already got my hands full with two other members of the flock; so if anyone would like to take care of this bird, please e-mail me at mark(dot)bittner(at)earthlink(dot)net.

5 Responses to “More on the Sick Parrot”

  1. Aurelle Says:

    Dear Mark, How is the little one doing? Bright eyes and a will to live must make a difference–hope he or she is getting along all right. I have at times provided supportive care to wild birds injured in the neighborhood (an area of free-ranging domestic cats in the midwest), and even when sadly they don’t make it, I think they are appreciative of a quiet place to rest and pass their last hours in safety from predators. Thank you for writing The Wild Parrots. I am so grateful to have experienced the book and the film, and I learned so much in retrospect, from your experiences with Dogen and Tupelo, about the deep capacities of my own departed companion, a special-needs Amazon parrot rescued from a neglectful home. And I am glad this day to be in a world where you are offering your current thoughts on this website, and where a kind neighbor will come to you with a little one in need of help. Blessings, Aurelle

    • markbittner Says:

      The parrot—now named Sydney—is doing remarkably well. I’m beginning to think he may not have the worm. He’s still unstable, but not as much as before. I’m watching him closely.

  2. John Says:

    I’d suggest giving the bird some colloidal silver, and see if that doesn’t kill the parasite, or some diluted oil of oregano.

  3. sun conure Says:

    First what a wonderful bird
    Second do you allready have a solution. I’m faced with the same problem only my bird is a green cheeked conure

Leave a Reply

