The Public Option

Intellectually I’ve always favored what they’re calling “healthcare reform,” but because I’ve had good luck with my health, my feelings on the issue have never been particularly strong. After a nudge from Peter Clothier of the Buddha Diaries, several nudges from Judy, and after seeing the vitriol and nonsense coming out of the mouths of the usual suspects, I’ve decided that I have to get involved. The idea that healthcare is properly left to the machinations of private enterprise is absurd. (And that’s stating it kindly.) The idea that government shouldn’t have any role, or that it’s incapable of dealing with the issue correctly lacks reason and good sense. It’s the fruit of Reagan’s name calling—nothing more. A government is as good as its people. (Are we any good?) So I favor the “public option,” and I’ll be writing Senators Diane Feinstein and Barbara Boxer to let them know.

2 Responses to “The Public Option”

  1. PeterClothier Says:

    Thanks for helping to spread the word, Mark!

  2. Cool Springs Says:

    I really enjoyed the documentary about the parrots. It was really interesting and just amazing to watch. Ive seen the Parrots of Telegraph Hill a few times and it only gets better!

Leave a Reply

