Progress Report #50

I finished my second pass through the Second Draft’s Chapter 23. Working title, “The Last Wave.” I start chapter 24 tomorrow. I think it’s going to be a relatively long one. It deals, in part, with my feeling that, as I head back out onto the street, I’m going under, I’m starting to drown.  Working title: “E” is for Education.

3 Responses to “Progress Report #50”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Nobody heard him, the dead man,
    But still he lay moaning:
    I was much further out than you thought
    And not waving but drowning.

    — Not Waving But Drowning [ excerpt ], by Stevie Smith

  2. Suzy Says:

    Sometimes when I think I am about to down, I can pull myself together by singing these lyrics from a John Prine song:

    That’s the way that the world goes ‘round
    You’re up one day, the next you’re down
    It’s half an inch of water & you think you’re gonna drown
    That’s the way that the world goes ‘round

  3. Chandani Diaz Says:

    Please, by all means – keep working on that book – you’re almost done, right!!!???? We can’t wait to buy it. How do you ever maintain that skill to write? People used to tell me I had a gift for writing – but then there were choir practices for our daughter, her karate practices, soccer (thank God she decided one her own to quit that), REGULAR work (for me) plus a secondary job cleaning a Jewish synagogue (work we’re HAPPY to get, don’t misunderstand!). By the time I come home, COOK dinner for all of us (my hubby, Nando, is a great chef but he sometimes has to put in 18 hr. shifts as a paramedic)….by that TIME I have no creativity left. Wrote a short story about 7 yrs. ago and it was rejected by just about everyone. How do you find the inspiration & time to write??

Leave a Reply

