A Negative Time

Lately, I’ve been unable to write anything here. When I look at the news, I feel nothing but dismay. I’ve had the beginning for dozens of posts. But before I can begin to write, I see another appalling story that blows away the previous idea. Actually, I’d much rather be writing about things that I find beautiful and intriguing. But we live in such a negative time that it’s hard to ignore it. The Republicans and the Tea Party folks are on a tear. Yet, the more they get of what they want, the angrier they become. I’ve been noticing this about the right wing (or whatever you want to call it) ever since the fall of the Soviet Union. It didn’t make them happy at all. They just got crazier. But then, what they want doesn’t bring happiness. Perhaps that’s why they get so angry. When what they think will make them happy doesn’t make them happy, it pisses them off.

Anyway, I’ll get back to posting here soon enough. I’ve been trying to avoid the news the last few days. I’ve mostly been working on the final outline for the book, and it’s going well. It’s an unquestionably strange story. As I work on it—even though I lived it—there are times when I have to shake my head. I’m not the kind of writer who makes stuff up for the sake of a story. Except for some necessary compression, it will all be true.

Tags: , , , ,

9 Responses to “A Negative Time”

  1. jessbarz Says:

    I too feel a deep negativity taking hold of this country. The news is just awful with what they continually post. Tragedies are exploited to the highest bidder and everyone else looks like a bunch of mornons. I think it is a sad state we are heading into, or have arrived in, but I hope that not all is lost.

    • markbittner Says:

      All is not lost. I’m convinced we’ll get one more chance to bring some light into the world. But it could well be our last one.

  2. kathy Says:

    Yes, well, it is all so annoying and negative and low-life that I have decided to plan my retirement (9 years hence) to move to France, preferably south or southwest. I have had a nice time with the extensive learning curve about France and I don’t think I will miss this country one bit (I have travelled extensively in Europe on my own). Something enjoyable to look forward to always seems to lift one’s spirits.

  3. Linda Fairchild Says:

    Work at the art level. The news is silly right now and doesn’t mean a while helluva lot. Too much quick blah blah blah.
    What you are writing is deep and true and artists are leading us out.
    The great thing about this big noisy world is that when we reach critical mass around stupid, other forces kick in. The parrots know this, of course!

  4. beysshoes Says:

    I liked this blurb very much, Mark. It’s so relatable. I too get blocked when such a dismal state of the nation prevails. Anger can sometimes fuel us if we channel it right; but eventually we crash on that kind of fueling yes? I hope you’re right about the second chance Mark. Kathy, I’ve often thought about Canada, having lived just a stones throw away in Maine. It’s hard to accept what our country has become about anymore.

  5. mary Says:

    When things look so bad, I try to find good news elsewhere.
    Here is something that cheered me up – we visited San Francisco two weeks ago when husband had to do a two week work project in San Ramon. I found your book “Wild parrots of Telegraph Hill” in one of their bookstores and finished reading it the night before he had a day off. Enjoyed the book immensely, as I did the documentary several months ago (seen through Netflix). Next day we drove to Telegraph Hill to see what the parrots’ neigborhood looks like. What a beautiful view! Never been there before. Then driving to Fort Mason, we first heard and then saw two cherryheads flying in the direction of the Hill. Then saw several small groups of cherryheads at the Fort. They make a good noise! I was ecstatic! Didn’t even help husband to get our tandem bike off the car for our ride to the Wharf. Definitely a high point and will be remembered for many years to come. Thanks!

  6. JB Says:

    A periodic news detox is a good thing. Sometimes, our awareness should focus on what is observable directly. Media distort.

  7. Margaret Benbow Says:

    Anybody who has work to do that he loves is lucky. He has a solid core to sustain him no matter what kind of shitstorm is going on outside. You have that work, Mark.

  8. suzy Says:

    Yeah, you could be having to eke out a living like I do: preparing tax returns. What misery!

Leave a Reply

