The Death of Bin Laden

My view of this affair is much too complicated to go into right now. My book is putting a special claim on my attention. But I do want to say this: I’ve never celebrated the death of anyone, and I’m not going to start now. It’s interesting to see how much of this is just a media event. All the news organizations have America celebrating victory. But the morning after, as I was riding my bike along Fisherman’s Wharf on my way out of town, I took the time to study the faces in the crowd. They all had the same bored expressions I always see down there. And these weren’t the supposedly America-hating San Franciscans of Republican imagination. San Franciscans seldom go to Fisherman’s Wharf. They were all tourists, and they come from every corner of the nation.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “The Death of Bin Laden”

  1. kathy Says:

    I just felt really sad at hearing the news. I did not feel like dancing in the streets. I agree, Mark, the subject is quite complex.

  2. Chandani Diaz Says:

    Same at our house; we have never celebrated anyone’s death. Also very grateful to Pres. Obama for his decision NOT to show the gruesome photos….there is no point. We were so bombarded by all this Osama Bin Laden news (radio, TV, newspapers, Internet) that when some friends sent us a You Tube video of goldfinches feeding at thier feeder – it was about the most refreshing thing we’d seen.

  3. Karen Says:

    Agreed. I’m not sorry Bin Laden’s dead, but I’m uncomfortable with my country engaging in extrajudicial killing (assassination), and I found the cheering disturbing. I recall the reaction Americans had to the deaths of the Blackwater contractors in Iraq: When Iraqis were seen dancing and cheering in front of their blackened bodies hanging from a bridge, Americans were outraged and called them barbarians; the US military retaliated by utterly destroying the city of Fallujah, using white phosphorus and cluster bombs (talk about barbaric!).

    I would have preferred to have seen Bin Laden captured and given a Nuremberg-like trial. I know it would have been complicated — made more so by politics in this country — but adhering to the rule of law is what makes us civilized.

  4. amanda Says:

    thank you for being such a wonderful soul. im glad im not the only one that feels this way 🙂

  5. JB Says:

    “Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.” – MLK Jr.

  6. Brad Biggs Says:

    The assassination of Usama Bin Laden does indeed bring out very complex emotions. On the one hand, I feel Justice has been served to one who deserved this fate or much worse. On the other hand, I cannot celebrate the assassination of any person by our government; the public displays by President Obama and others were grotesque at best…

  7. David Says:

    C.S. Lewis said in Mere Christianity that loving your neighbor as you love yourself (which includes your “enemy”) means recognizing their wrongful actions for what they are, not standing in the way of justice, and wishing, hoping that some day they will change for the better. Wishing evil for evil is hatred. And dancing in the streets to celebrate the death of someone who was obviously misguided is downright hateful.

Leave a Reply

