Progress Report #67: The Forest for the Trees

Falls Creek Falls trail

A Trail in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest

I’m back from my trip up north to Washington State. Judy and I spent four days in a primitive cabin (no electricity, no water) in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest that the Forest Service rents out. My family used to go to this area often, and I still love it. It’s in a thick forest—undeveloped wilderness.

Once again, I found that getting some distance from the book helped to clarify some important issues that were slowing me down. I couldn’t see the forest for the trees. The path keeps leading me to the answers. I’m back at work on the outline now and hope to make rapid progress.

When I got back from the cabin, I learned of an amazing coincidence. While in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest I went to visit another old cabin that my grandmother once owned. I used to spend part of every summer there. The cabin is no longer in the family, and I had some questions of the new owners. I left a note on the door asking them, if they would be so kind, to get in touch. Shortly after I got home I received an email from a woman who told me she’d found the note on the door and thought my name sounded familiar. Later that day, she started reading a book she’d picked up at the library expressly for her stay at the cabin and realized that the author of the book and the author of the note had the same name. She didn’t think much about it until she came to a passage in the book about a cabin in the Gifford Pinchot National Forest that the author used to spend his summers in. The book was, of course, The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill. Neat, huh?

Tags:

11 Responses to “Progress Report #67: The Forest for the Trees”

  1. Ted Says:

    serendipity!

  2. Deborah Says:

    Wow! That’s amazing. I need to find a quiet place, the pic reminds me of Muir Woods.

  3. Chandani Diaz Says:

    Wow!!! As Hindus we don’t always believe in “coincidence” rather karma, but what a cool experience!! Best to you both!

  4. Shelley Says:

    Wow, that’s more than neat! It actually gave me goosebumps!

    Energy telepathy….. I don’t actually believe it was merely a coincidence…..

  5. Phinium Says:

    That’s a wonderful story – thanks for sharing.

  6. Brad Says:

    God works in mysterious ways. Or call it Karma. Great story. The trees often get in the way of our seeing the world as it is. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Sylvia Cooley Says:

    such a cool coincidence!

  8. Margaret Benbow Says:

    Trips like that are so healthy and good. I always remember something Ingmar Bergman said: “The demons hate frsh air!”

  9. Sarah Says:

    Woah, that’s weird … in a good way!

  10. unhoppy Says:

    You are clearly on a higher energy plane than most of us are. Please send some of that energy my way!

  11. Marcia Says:

    I do love the doco `Parrots of Telegraph Hill`, have watched and watched it. . loving the birds and your interaction with these wild creatures, the scenery . . in fact, everything about it. I have recommended it to others and have nothing but wonderful comments back.
    Your forest is very different looking to mine here in New Zealand, we don`t have many deciduous trees, so the bush as we call it, is quite dark, drippy and mysterious with a wonderful scent.

Leave a Reply

