Turning 60

It tends to surprise people when I tell them that I’m about to turn 60 (in three days). I don’t feel 60. I feel like I’m around 35. When I was young, I thought the fear of aging (as in the song “hope I die before I get old”) was ridiculous. I’ve always assumed it was a good thing to experience all the different stages of life. I still feel that way. I would not want to be 21 again. It was a time of too much anxiety and confusion. Judy and I are going for a short trip to Big Sur to celebrate. When we get back, I’ll start working on part 2 of the Three Views of Existenceβ€”a subject near and dear to my heart.

8 Responses to “Turning 60”

  1. Rita McGregor Says:

    I just turned 60 this year, too, and have never understood the fear of aging, either. I wouldn’t want to go back. Took too much time and hard work to learn what I know today. Much happier! πŸ™‚
    Enjoy!!!

  2. Thoma Lile Says:

    “Live long and prosper!”
    And define prosper as you like!
    πŸ™‚

  3. John Shepherd Says:

    Hey Mark,

    Greetings from Vancouver, WA. I hope that Judy and Yourself have a great time and enjoy your Birthday.

    I know what you mean, it was an anxious time at 21. It seems that the same pressures are on our youth today. We had the war in Southeast Asia, they have this contrived war or wars in the Middle East. The motivation is the same, to stimulate the economy of the military industrial complex. If they could outsource that without security implications, they would in the name of enhanced profits.

    Not much has changed except that some of us have a better perspective of the machine. That is why they only send the young and vulnerable to war.

    Again, enjoy your time at the coast and Happy Birthday!

    Best Regards,

    John

  4. margaret Says:

    Happy 60 to you, Mark! I, too, turn 60 in about a week and a half, and do not feel my age either! Life is good at 60.
    I wish you health, and long and happy life ahead!

  5. Sarah Says:

    β€’Β°*β€ΛœΛœβ€*Β°β€’.ΒΈβ˜† β˜… β˜†ΒΈ.β€’Β°*β€ΛœΛœβ€*Β°β€’.ΒΈβ˜†
    ╔╗╔╦══╦═╦═╦╗╔╗ β˜… β˜… β˜…
    β•‘β•šβ•β•‘β•β•β•‘β•β•‘β•β•‘β•šβ•β•‘ β˜†ΒΈ.β€’Β°*β€ΛœΛœβ€*Β°β€’.ΒΈβ˜†
    ║╔╗║╔╗║╔╣╔╩╗╔╝ β˜… 60th Birthday, Mark! β˜…
    β•šβ•β•šβ•©β•β•šβ•©β•β•šβ•β•β•šβ•
    β˜† β˜… β˜† β˜… β˜† β˜… β˜†

    πŸ˜€

    Hope you have a wonderful, fabulous birthday!

    πŸ˜€

  6. Elizabeth Says:

    Congratulations Mark! Having turned 60 myself in 2010 I know how amazing life in your 60’s is. Enjoy each and every day. It only gets better. These are the “good old days” HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    Elizabeth

  7. Deborah Says:

    Happy Birthday Mark have an awesome new year! I’m turning 60 next October and walk around scratching my head, asking “When did I grow up?”

  8. linda Says:

    Having just turned 57 on the twentieth of November, now I feel young ha! Hope you have many more.

Leave a Reply

