More on God and Science

I started my series of posts on The Three Views of Existence (part 3 will be coming soon) by saying that the two dominant views, creator god and scientific/materialist, barely recognize the existence of the third, “pantheism.” But I could have said they don’t recognize it at all and I wouldn’t have been far off the mark. Tonight I read a review in the New York Times of a  book by an academic philosopher, Alvin Platingas, who believes in the creator god and who has made something of a career out of taking on the philosophical materialists. The third view is never mentioned. For the two dominant  views, it may as well not even exist. But I’m convinced that the third view is the true one, and I see its consistent omission as indicative of how far the modern world has strayed.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “More on God and Science”

  1. Karen Says:

    Because of you and your writing about pantheism, I have discovered the artist, Charles Burchfield. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/06/25/arts/design/25burchfield.html?pagewanted=all

    I especially like his painting called, The Four Seasons.

    Thank you for pointing me in a new direction!

  2. Sarah Says:

    Mark, I admit that the concept of pantheism sails way over my head. Even so, I thought this somehwat off-topic excerpt about the recently-deceased British journalist Christopher Hitchens might be of interest to you:

    Hitchens described himself as an antitheist and a believer in the philosophical values of the Enlightenment. Hitchens said that a person “could be an atheist and wish that belief in god were correct,” but that “an antitheist … is someone who is relieved that there’s no evidence for such an assertion.” He argued that the concept of god or a supreme being is a totalitarian belief that destroys individual freedom, and that free expression and scientific discovery should replace religion as a means of teaching ethics and defining human civilization. — Source: Wikipedia

    The concept of a sky fairy is hard to shake, even if you know that it is mythological B.S. Tis what brainwashing will do to a person!

  3. Ron MacInnis Says:

    Mark:
    Thanks for this. A friend thought I might like it. He was right.
    Your most profound statement was, to me, that pantheism has not yet found its place between the other two world views, although logically and spiritually, I would propose, pantheism occupies a glorious, non confrontational middle ground upon which any clear thinking (?) person might stand in a spirit of comfort, celebration and reverence. I have just written a book about that so I have had occasion to think about it quite a bit.
    Please continue your good works. -Ron M
    P.S. Love Charles Burchfield.

Leave a Reply

