Rick Santorum

I saw a headline today: Santorum Knocks Obama’s Christian Values

He said that Obama’s agenda is “not about you. It’s not about your quality of life. It’s not about your jobs. It’s about some phony ideal. Some phony theology. Not a theology based on the Bible. A different theology.”

Not that it makes much difference, but I hate letting this kind of thing go by without a response. (This is not support for Obama, about whom I’ve become less than indifferent. It’s simply revulsion at what passes for religion in this country.) Rick Santorum knows nothing about religion. He is a staunch opponent of real religion, a follower of a phony theology. While I think that anyone who believes that the Bible is the inerrant word of God is off their rocker (or should I say “sadly mistaken”?), I would add that Santorum actually opposes a great deal of the philosophy—stated plainly—that is in the Bible. Christ taught pacifism as well as redistribution of the wealth, and anybody who can’t see that is deaf, blind, or simply obstinate. People like Rick Santorum need to be exposed as the charlatans that they are.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Rick Santorum”

  1. dc Says:

    I would have said ‘sanctimonious hypocrite’ instead of ‘charlatan’. But, anyway, I agree 99%. I’m not a big Alan Watts fan, but in one of his books he said something like the best thing that could happen to the bible would be to leave it on the shelf and forget about it for a few hundred years.

    • markbittner Says:

      I know that passage. It’s in “The Book: On the Taboo Against Knowing Who You Are.” Watts once meant a lot to me—when I was eighteen. When I read “The Book” actually. I never read anything else by him. The Book freed me of some musty old crap I had inside my head, and I still appreciate him for that.

    • markbittner Says:

      After allowing myself some time to wake up, I see your point. I chose “charlatan” because I sense that he’s beginning to say things that the sanctimonious hypocrite within doesn’t necessarily believe. He might simply be trying to rally the rabble. Either way, he’s wasting his life.

  2. Lynn B. Says:

    Ah, Mark, I do enjoy your writing. 🙂 It would be even more fun for me if I could find something to disagree with you about. But alas, that doesn’t happen much.

  3. Todd Minner Says:

    Well, many somewhat lose what being a Christian is about.
    I loved Gandhi when he said: ” I like your Christ. I do not like your Christians.” He saw the huge variance of both by actually reading the bible, something most who call themselves Christians have yet to do. .Seems his quality of life was based on the sincere desire to have everyone have a quality life.

Leave a Reply

