Life With Alex

DVD Cover

A few years ago Arlene Levin-Rowe, the lab manager for Dr. Irene Pepperberg, the scientist who is studying the language and cognitive abilities of the African grey parrot, contacted Judy to see if she could recommend someone to make a film about the lab’s primary subject, Alex. Judy did have a recommendation for Arlene, a local fledgling filmmaker named Emily Wick. Judy ended up mentoring Emily on the film, and last night, I got to see the final hour-long version. I was impressed. It’s quite well done. The film is going to be available on DVD in early September, and if you want to see the trailer, you can find it here.

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Life With Alex”

  1. Lynn B. Says:

    Wow, Mark. Loved the trailer! I’m a bird lover and bird watcher too. I especially love our hummingbirds that migrate from South America to Colorado and stay in the foothills and mountains from late spring/early summer through early fall. I’m looking forward to seeing this.

  2. Margaret Corby Says:

    I was/am a supported of Alex and Dr. Pepperberg’s research with Alex, and also a supporter/avid reader of your book and your film with Judy, so this is the greatest! I saw the trailer last night. Bring the birds to light of all those who may still be in the dark!

    Dr. Pepperberg visited Rochester, NY and talked about Alex at our Museum and Science Center many years ago, and I have been a long time supporter of Alex and the research as well as your Parrots of Telegraph HIll…as a long time mom to a gold cap conure as well as a sun conure. Long may they fly!

  3. cindyschnackel Says:

    Looking forward to seeing it. I was so sad when Alex died. Our little cockatiels constantly amaze us with their antics and intelligence. What characters and special beings, birds are…all of them.

  4. Sarah Says:

    My college biology professor – the crankiest f*rt who ever lived, a man who’d failed to be admitted into med school and consequently spent his teaching career taking out his resentment on his unfortunate students – once related to my class an incident about Mister Alex.

    Apparently, Alex was once asked if he wanted to have cold peas or warm peas for lunch.

    “Warm peas,” Alex responded.

    Well, I guess Alex’s assistants figured that he wouldn’t know the difference between warm peas and cold peas, so they gave him cold peas.

    Alex picked up a pea and then spit it out. “This [is a] cold pea. I asked for warm peas.”

    * * *

    This story alarms me more than my prof.

  5. Critters & Conservation Says:

    I loved the Parrots of Telegraph Hill movie and I can’t wait to see this one!

  6. Shelley Says:

    I’m sitting here watching cartoons because my macaw kept yelling, “I want cartoot (sic)”. After switching the channel to accommodate his demand, he called me, “what a good girl.” 🙂

    Dr. Pepperberg proved what all parrot owners know – these birds are smarter than many people with whom we interact and have amazingly learned our language to communicate with us.

    I loved your book, Judy’s movie, read and watched everything about Alex and Dr. Pepperberg I could and look forward to this new viewpoint from Arline Levin-Rowe. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

