A Clever Rejoinder

I’ve been edging toward putting up a more serious post on a subject that, since my return from Santa Barbara Island, has been taking up a lot space in my head. But I’m not quite ready to write it. So in the meantime…

I love clever rejoinders. We probably all do. This week I was reminded of one of my favorites. It’s a well-known rejoinder, but I repeat it out of affection for its humor and for those who might never have heard it.

Steve Earle is a singer-songwriter whose big inspiration was the singer-songwriter Townes Van Zandt. (Singer-songwriters were once extremely important to me. I wanted to be one.) Steve Earle was asked to write a blurb for a Townes Van Zandt album and came up with this: “Townes Van Zandt is the best songwriter in the whole world, and I’ll stand on Bob Dylan’s coffee table in my cowboy boots and say that.” When Van Zandt was asked about Earle’s blurb he replied (spontaneously, I hope), “I’ve met Bob Dylan’s bodyguards, and if Steve Earle thinks he can stand on Bob Dylan’s coffee table, he is sadly mistaken.”

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “A Clever Rejoinder”

  1. Margaret Benbow Says:

    Cool, funny, and also has the ring of truth about the bodyguards! It happened to be the second good Musician quote I ran across today. The first was from Jimi Hendrix, when an interviewer asked him, “How does it feel to be the best guitarist in the world?” “I wouldn’t know,” Jimi said. “Ask Rory Gallagher.” What a modest response–and what a gracious tribute to Gallagher, an incredible musician who seldom got his due during his short life.

  2. Sarah Says:

    ” ‘When Van Zandt was asked about Earle’s blurb he replied (spontaneously, I hope), “I’ve met Bob Dylan’s bodyguards, and if Steve Earle thinks he can stand on Bob Dylan’s coffee table, he is sadly mistaken.’ ”

    Hahaha! Nice one. 😀

    and

    ” ‘Jimi Hendrix, when an interviewer asked him, “How does it feel to be the best guitarist in the world?” “I wouldn’t know,” Jimi said. “Ask Rory Gallagher.’ ”

    Awww! Sweet. Jimi xoxo.

  3. Jared Burton Says:

    I used to think Bob Dylan was the best songwriter on the planet. Then I got over it.

Leave a Reply

