Changing My Political Affiliation

Last week when I read in the New York Times that Obama was going to submit a budget that proposed cutting Social Security and Medicare benefits, I decided that if he really did this, I was going to leave the Democratic Party. For what it’s worth, I wrote the White House saying so. (No response and no quaking in boots.) Well, he has done so, and I’m changing my registration today. Some people are saying that what he’s done is merely a tactic to try to make the Republicans look bad or something. I don’t care. I want someone who stands up and openly does what’s good and what’s right. I’m sick of the political games. I’m sick of compromising with evil. I don’t know exactly what happens next, but I’m not staying on this track anymore. The Republicans managed to pull the country into hell by being uncompromising. Maybe we have to be uncompromising to make our way into the heavenly realm.

In more pleasant news, I just found out that my book, The Wild Parrots of Telegraph Hill, has gone into an 11th printing as a paperback. (It did four printings in hardback.) Next February, the book will have been in print for ten years, a happy milestone.

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 Responses to “Changing My Political Affiliation”

  1. FLPatriot Says:

    Are you registering with any paticular party or going unaffiliated? What I hate is that in Florida (where I live) we have closed primaries so you have to register in one party to vote in their primary. Is your state an open primary state or will you be locked out of primaries?

    “I want someone who stands up and openly does what’s good and what’s right.” Why did you registered Democrat in the first place? I mean, don’t get me wrong, both parties are cheating lieing dirt bags, but the DNC is the biggest two faced scam artists in the racket.

    • markbittner Says:

      I had been a Green but got tired of them doing nothing. I also found myself in disagreement with them on a lot of things. Maybe it was more their tone, than their actual stands. Regardless, I saw that they were going nowhere. I re-registered as a Democrat when Obama was running, thinking that at last some thoughtful opposition to Reaganism had arrived.

      For the time being I’m going unaffiliated. I don’t know offhand what that means with regard to primaries. At the moment, it’s irrelevant to me.

  2. Chandani Diaz Says:

    My husband and I have been registered Democrats for decades and this is so, so disappointing. My husband will EVENTUALLY get a pension, but I will have to rely on social security alone. We feel so betrayed by Obama’s decision. We would switch to Independents but their candidates NEVER win.

    • markbittner Says:

      I can still vote for whomever I want in the general election, of course. I just can’t participate in the primaries. There is a need for an effective third party. So far we haven’t been able to pull that off in this country. If things get bad enough, maybe a future effort will succeed. Some of my anger with the Democrats is the result of things happening here in San Francisco. While San Francisco has a reputation as an ultra-liberal city, it’s not really true. The city government is in the hands of developers and the politicians they have bought. I went to a land use commission meeting a few days ago and was appalled by the supposedly liberal chairman of the committee. He tries to appear fair minded, but he’s clearly ambitious and working hard to please the money people.

  3. Margaret Benbow Says:

    I’ll continue to vote for the party that is less likely to wage war–and that’s the Democrats. Third parties have a fetish for failure, with the prime example being the Green debacle in 2000 which robbed Gore of the presidency he’d earned and deserved….and awarded it to Bush, who promptly started the Iraq war. Third party? Count me out.

    • markbittner Says:

      I feel I have to move in a direction I believe in. It leaves me feeling empty to compromise like this all the time. It saps me. I can’t do it anymore.

  4. FLPatriot Says:

    @Margaret: “I’ll continue to vote for the party that is less likely to wage war–and that’s the Democrats.” Democrats have lead us into every major war of the last 110 years with the exception of Iraq/Afghanistan, which the Democrat majority in congress voted in favor of starting.

    During his presidency Barack Obama has sent our troops into Lybia, increased our presance in Afghanistan and is currently looking to send troops into Syria and Mali. Not to mention the increase in drone warfare.

    The only difference between the Republic warpigs and the Democrat warpigs is that the DNC dosn’t get exposed in the media. Both parties are in the war business.

    If you want to stay voting for Democrats you are free to do so, just don’t justify it as an anti-war vote.

  5. Margaret Benbow Says:

    FLPatriot, I prefer to base my vote on the millenium we actually live in. Bush–and those who voted for him–have the blood of tens of thousands on their hands.And by the way, you’d get a big argument that Democrats “caused” the second world war–which we were forced to enter, and which a Democratic president managed to win. Or that they “caused” Vietnam, which was raging away all the way back to the 50’s. As for your claim that you know the secret workings of Barack Obama’s mind, in regard to Syria and Mali, I doubt it.

    Mark, I understand what you mean. But somehow it reminds me of Dietrich Bonhoeffer’s remark about “people so interested in their own purity, they’re indifferent to the well-being of others.” You and I are pretty safe, We’re basically middle-class. But there are many millions in this country who are struggling, at the mercy of political decisions. I don’t think we have the right to drop out and say, “A pox on both their houses.” I think we always have to keep those vulnerable people in mind and vote for the one who will do better for them–even if he or she is just the better of two evils.

    • markbittner Says:

      But my intention is not to walk away and say “a pox on both their houses.” I want to find something new that works and to which I can willingly give my energy. I want to see change, not to seek withdrawal.

  6. FLPatriot Says:

    @Margaret, I agree with you that “Bush–and those who voted for him–have the blood of tens of thousands on their hands.” With people like Biden and Reid that voted for war in Iraq I hold the Democat majority as responsible as Bush and his cronies.

    “I prefer to base my vote on the millenium we actually live in. ” First, those that do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it. Secondly, Obama is this millenium and he is as much if not more of a war monger than Bush was.

    Jan 2013: ““We are monitoring the situation closely,” White House national security spokesman Tommy Vietor said. “We have noted that the government of Mali has asked for support, and we share the French goal of denying terrorists a safe haven in the region.” (I would say that the Obama asministration is looking at “helping” in Mali.)

    But Margaret, don’t get me wrong. I served in the US Army and have the full respect for what our armed services does and what they sacrifice, but I do not support their over use. A vote for either the Republicans or the Democrats can not be an anti-war vote. Both political parties use war too often to spread their ideologies. When I was in the Army President Clinton moved my unit from Germany to Ft Lewis Washington so that we could deploy to Korea. Clinton increased our presance in Korea in 1994 while threatening war with North Korea, almost 20 years later and another Democrat is doing the same thing.

    In the words of the great poet Dave Mustaine “if there’s a new way, I’ll be the first in line, but it better work this time.”

    No third party can win as long as people settle to treat the election like a contest to be won. Voting is not about winning, it is about doing what is best for our country. If everyone that was sick and tired of the two party duopoly actually voted on principle a third party would win.

  7. Darlene Kegel Says:

    Congratulations on your book. I will have to search for a hardback edition. My brother, who was your neighbor, introduced me to your documentary on DVD. I hold it very close to my heart.

  8. Shelley Says:

    The only viable salvation is a third party candidate who can break the stranglehold of Democrats and Republicans. I quit voting party lines and vote my conscience. I will not spend a lifetime fruitlessly trying to pick the lesser of two evils.

    • markbittner Says:

      I’ve been in this place you speak of before, and I find myself there again. I keep getting sucked back in. I think being “fooled” by Obama was understandable, but really the last disillusionmentI would hope. I’m too old to keep making the same mistakes.

  9. Margaret Benbow Says:

    I think we know who was the more evil of the last two presidential choices…no, it’s not fun to hold our noses as we vote,
    but it’s not “fruitless” to choose the less evil. It means we’re doing
    what we can, given the conditions of a particular time. And like you, I’d love to see a genuinely viable third party.

  10. Tired of the Kabuki Theater BS Says:

    I’m with you on this, Mark. But, like most Americans, we are boxed in with nowhere to go politically.

    Pay no attention to the deliberately-timed diversions and distractions going on out there. Pay attention to those cuts being made to Social Security and Medicare.

    Btw, exempting members of Congress from insider trading laws this week – well done!

Leave a Reply

