Reviews, Dreams, and Departures

Contrary to all appearances, I have not forgotten or abandoned this blog. It’s been a funny time. Lately, I’ve been spending many an hour reexamining my views. It’s hard to write about what you believe when you’re in the process of reevaluating it. I wouldn’t say I’ve change any of my positions. If anything, I’ve deepened them. I’m reading a book right now: The Enlightenment and Why It Still Matters. What a joke!

I had a dream the other night: I was standing in a park and saw across the way Suzuki Roshi (the Japanese Zen Master and founder of Zen Center here in San Francisco) who was in a yellow pickup truck, which had a cab on the back, like a camper shell, but made of wood. The pickup was on a hill and had a stick shift and Suzuki was having trouble getting it into gear. He kept bashing into the car parked behind him. He finally gave up and I went over to ask him if everything was alright. He shook his head “no.” He said the pickup had been a gift from his students and that the cab on the back was intended to be his studio. But he hadn’t asked for it, didn’t want it, and furthermore, the truck had been paid for out of an account that supplied him with his daily stipend and now it was all used up and he had no money to live on.

I’m leaving for nine days in Hawaii on Monday. Work and play. I’ve never been there and I’m looking forward to it. My intention is to get good and rested and then come back to start the last big push on Street Song.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Reviews, Dreams, and Departures”

  1. Deborah Says:

    I too have been revisiting my views esp on spirtiualism, no answers yet. Enjoy your trip.

  2. Tim Mueller Says:

    George Burns asked Gracie where the beautiful bouquet of flowers in the vase came from. She replied, “Well, you always tell me when I visit someone in the hospital to take some flowers. So I did!” That said, be sure to take lots of pictures…

  3. tz Says:

    Enjoy Hawaii. remember, There are no answers, only bigger questions. 🙂

  4. Leni Says:

    Reading “Memories, Dreams, Reflections” by C.G.Jung right now and it is fascinating. Jung had his first dream at the age of 3, and it set the course for the rest of his life. Your dream is so interesting. Thanks for sharing it. And enjoy your visit to Hawaii. I was there once, and the scent of the Plumeria still haunts me decades later, and in a good way!

  5. Margaret Benbow Says:

    How lucky, to have had a conversation with Suzuki Roshi, even in your dreams!

    Have been reading, with great admiration, a book you might enjoy: A Different Kind of Luxury: Japanese Lessons in Simple Living and Inner Abundance, by Andy Coutourier. He interviewed and lived with eleven modern-day Japanese who rejected the Tokyo-style rat race. They’re mostly craftsmen, gardeners and writers, and live in a self-reliant way in the mountains. It’s a fascinating book.

  6. Chandani Diaz Says:

    This is not to the most recent reply – but there is a PBS special on tonight (“Nature”) called “Parrots Confidential” – about the complexities of parrot nature

Leave a Reply

