End of Year Progress Report, #95

This has been a difficult year for work on my book Street Song. Chapter Two proved to be a problem of sorts. There is a Preface and a Chapter One, and both were much easier. Chapter One is more a chain of impressions and images than a narrative. Chapter Two was the first long chapter of story, so it was where I had to struggle to find the voice and approach I want to use for the rest of the book. It took an incredibly long time. But I’m satisfied now. I’m working on Chapter Three, which shouldn’t take too long. And then it’s on to each chapter in succession. I’ve been working on this project for a little over eight years now. I figure that means it will end up either very good indeed, or else it’s an impossible pile of crap. I’ve shown what I’ve finished to a handful of friends, and it’s been well-received, which gives me hope. I intend to make strong progress this year. I also want to turn my attention back to this blog some. Out of necessity (the book) I’ve been neglecting it. But I have been thinking about it and what I want to do with it. Unless work on the book insists on my full attention, expect more frequent posts. There are certain things I’ve refrained from saying here, and I’d rather not do that anymore. Things are getting “seriouser and seriouser” in this weird old world. We need more frank discussion.

In the meantime, my best wishes for a happy New Year. May all beings flourish.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “End of Year Progress Report, #95”

  1. Kathy Says:

    May you and yours be blessed with new beginnings. You are always an inspiration. I appreciate radical thinkers!!

  2. Lynn Duvall Says:

    I have a strong feeling that you’ll end up with the absolute opposite of “an impossible pile of crap.” Books are hard, hard work, so stick with it as long as you need to. We’ll be here when you’ve finished and, no doubt, things will be curiouser yet … and maybe some resolutions will have begun. — Best of everything to you, yours & theirs.

  3. Tim Mueller, mostly Says:

    “..either very good, or an impossible pile of crap.” Either/or. Typical Western dualistic thinking. Expand your mind, kid! Necessity will determine what it will be. The streets are singing; the streets will always be singing!

  4. Aurelle Says:

    So looking forward to reading your future thoughts, with true gratitude for all that you have shared with us till now! A very happy new year to all within your home!

Leave a Reply

