Progress Report #101 and the State of the Blog Address

Hello? Hello? Anybody here?

I know I’ve been neglecting this blog. It’s been difficult getting to it, again, because of my book, Street Song. Anytime I have the energy to write, I always feel I should be putting it into the book. At the same time, I don’t want to abandon this blog. I started it up because there wasn’t anybody saying what I wanted to hear said, which is still true.

As for the book, I’m almost finished with chapter 10, and I have two chapters much later in the manuscript completed as well, for a total of 12 finished chapters. I have 48 chapters outlined, which makes me a quarter of the way through the book. (This is the last draft.) It’s almost 10 years now, but I can see the end. For reasons too tedious to explain, these first 10 chapters have been the most difficult to write. The pace will pick up with Chapter 11. I see one task that I have to attend to soon. Within the first seven chapters especially, I have about twice as much book as I want. I need to do some editing, compressing, cutting, which I don’t think will be too hard. There’s always a little cleanup to do after that kind of surgery, though. I can say beyond any doubt that I’ve learned a great deal writing Street Song. You might think that’s a no-brainer, but I’ve always tended to regard writing as an expression of what one already knows. But that has not been the case here. It’s been a real meditation that has changed me. I understand certain things now that I didn’t understand before.

As for this blog, like I said, I don’t want to abandon it. I have one idea on how I can stick with it. It can never supersede my work on the book, but there’s a lot happening in the world right now, and I’m eager to speak my mind. I’ve been on Facebook a bunch lately, but you can’t really go into any depth there. It’s fast and ephemeral — more cheerleading than anything else, as I have told a number of people. I’m sure I’ve lost a lot of readers here, but I aim to make a return. Not many people hold the views I do. Because we live in a democracy, there is a tendency to think that whatever the majority of the population believes is the correct view. I don’t see it that way. I think humanity has gone way off the track. There’s a lot I want to say about that.

13 Responses to “Progress Report #101 and the State of the Blog Address”

  1. Bruce Says:

    Writers write what they know, but they don’t know what they know until they write it.

  2. rainnnn Says:

    I like your blog; so will always be around here when you have something new 🙂

  3. sarina Says:

    any idea what year this book might actually come out? I figured you must have abandoned the project.

    • markbittner Says:

      No, I don’t know. I would hate to even guess. It’s impossible to describe what goes on in the writing of a book. It’s like riding a wild horse. I long for the ride to be over, but I still have a ways to go. I’ve never been close to giving it up. I work on it constantly. It’s always on my mind. I work six days a week. I’ll keep people up to date here.

  4. Margaret Benbow Says:

    Your readers (I’m one) will greatly benefit because you’re writing the book with such care, as you did the first one. It takes as long as it takes.

  5. Phinium Says:

    Still here. Still enjoying your words. Will wait for more when you’re ready.

  6. Aurelle Says:

    Thought of you earlier this week and hoped that all was well. Look forward very much to reading what you have to share!

  7. Frank Says:

    Still here, too. Write on, sir!

  8. tumbleweed princess Says:

    Mark

    I still enjoy watching the dvd. I look forward to reading your blog and wish you the very best with all of your endeavors.

    A fan from Oklahoma !

  9. Patsy D Says:

    Keep writing Mark, wonderful stuff. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

