Progress Report #109

A month or so ago I finished Section 3 of Street Song and saw myself taking a few days off and then rolling into the start of Section 4, which is the final section of the book. It didn’t work that way. My brain revolted. Section 4 marks a real change in the story and is the strangest section in the book. My insides needed a bit of time to make the adjustment. But I’m back now. In fact, I’m almost finished with Chapter 29, the first chapter of the last section. I know how it goes, what voice to use, what approach to take—all the essentials. So this is the last leg of what has been so far an 11 year journey. Probably a year to go. It’s taken a lot out of me. As I’ve said repeatedly, it’s been a much greater struggle than I ever imagined.

Office

Tags:

8 Responses to “Progress Report #109”

  1. stiegem Says:

    Why is it taking 11 years. What is so difficult at this point?

    • markbittner Says:

      That feels like a funny question to me at this point. Books take as long as they take. If I’d wanted to put out a pile of poorly written crap, I’d have finished by now. But I want to feel good about the book when it’s done. And I want it to be accurate. That all takes a lot of care. And I’m not a fast writer.

  2. Deborah Says:

    Take as long as you want – its YOUR book! Can’t wait till you’re done. 🙂

  3. rainnnn Says:

    Have you considered the possibility that you have more than one book given the number of pages and how it covers such a long period of time? So many readers today won’t commit to really long books although that might be different with autobiographies and biographies.

    • markbittner Says:

      Actually, I’ve already chopped the book down considerably from how I originally envisioned it. The book does not meander. There are few eddies. It keeps a tight structure that perpetually moves forward. I feel like I’d be amputating one of my own legs if I cut more.

  4. rainnnn Says:

    I wasn’t thinking cut it but rather more than one book. Some of the biographies and autobiographies break them by ages. Don’t cut out what might be important to another. Just there are various ways of putting out a book that spans a lot of years and ideas.

    • markbittner Says:

      I’m not sure that it’s THAT long. In any case, I just have to keep writing. I’m almost done–relatively speaking. This is the third draft. It’s not been 11 years on one draft, and much of that includes extensive research time.

  5. stiegem Says:

    Long books don’t bother me at all. Keep it in one volume.

Leave a Reply

